Historic Simracing Organisation
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Historic Simracing Organisation

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Introductions

Go down 
+7
Jim Carvalho
Vladislav Zenkov
Marko Igić
Frank Verplanken
Ben Paulet
Waldo Swiegers
Paul Velasco
11 posters
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
Paul Velasco
Experienced Driver
Paul Velasco

Number of posts : 260
Registration date : 2020-01-01

Introductions Empty
PostSubject: Introductions   Introductions Icon_minitimeMon 3 Feb 2020 - 13:08

Introductions Paul_a11

The best way to introduce myself (and this Kyalami project) is simply to say I am a sports/news photographer for over 15 years, photo editor for another 10 and since 2009 owner/editor of GrandPrix247.com as well as since 2016 a marketing & media consultant these days. https://www.grandprix247.com/about-gp247/

I started simming with my first Scalextric, then my good mate Joao Silva introduced me to Geoff Crammond's GP2, ICR2, NR2003 etc. I simmed seriously in the GPL-VROC era and did many leagues etc in those early days when simming was for weirdos - nowadays simming is cool! My GPLRank was/is -22.788.

Since then have had all the sims and spent a spell on iRacing...

To cut a long story short I love simming, and I always go back to rF2 for the immersion and physics realism. And of course the cars I want to drive. The interface and all that sucks but it is what it is.

These days I am tired of racing AI and hotlapping alone, so after some discussions with HSO we have decided to run a HSO-GP247 server featuring Kyalami on 247 basis, offline only when HSO has events or races etc.

Why Kyalami?

I grew up at Kyalami, watched my first Grand Prix there in 1971 there and missed very few until the track of the time was changed to another layout. I have also photographed at the new track