Historic Simracing Organisation


 
HomeHome  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
Share
 

 HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW

Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
AuthorMessage
Frank Verplanken
League Owner
Frank Verplanken

Number of posts : 12179
Age : 44
Location : Nice, France
Registration date : 2008-09-08

HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Empty
PostSubject: HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW   HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Icon_minitimeSun 13 Oct 2019 - 19:59

Hi all  :hello:

Real race, real rules, real field, real distance : these were the cardinal principles on which HSO was founded some 11 years ago. These principles remain the guiding line for 2020 and beyond, so today, a few months away from a new season, here is a preview of what's cooking for next year at HSO.

As previously hinted, we will switch to a different main platform for the year : rFactor 2. Thanks to an increase over time of valid mods to use as per HSO standards, we are now able to use rF2’s awesome immersion features such as dynamic weather for a full season of HSO racing. The original rFactor was HSO’s breakthrough simulator so to speak, with many great pages of the league’s history written in dark blue and orange ISI ink. The switch to its successor thus feels like a homecoming as much as a new start indeed.

The season will also feature a blast from the past in the form of a series run with the legendary Historic GT & Touring Cars mod for rFactor 1.

On the organisational side, Mike Becnel and I will be in charge of daily affairs regarding the forum and the events, while the irreplaceable Guillaume Siebert and the talented Ben Paulet will help in their respective fields of nerdy awesomeness :D.

The forum, site, youtube channel and facebook group will remain unchanged. However, some adjustments to how the events are conducted will be implemented in areas such as the policing of crashes, the booking of cars or the moderating of the forum for instance.

All our rFactor 2 races next year will use the real life weather predictions at the same track in real time. This way the drivers will be able to follow predictions in the days building up to the race, while the definitive weather settings used for the event will be posted on the morning of the race.

Next to the mods presented below, several others have our attention, like the ever expanding Group C mod by MAK-Corp, and could be added to the schedule later on. All in all, we remain committed to keeping you entertained and satisfied as historic simracers by making the 2020 version of the HSO experiment a proud continuation of this ongoing saga.

See you trackside  :conduit: !

HSO Team  :flag:

_________________
Thou shalt not train.
HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW 10


Last edited by Frank Verplanken on Sat 28 Dec 2019 - 19:58; edited 2 times in total
Back to top Go down
http://historicsimracing.org/en/index
Frank Verplanken
League Owner
Frank Verplanken

Number of posts : 12179
Age : 44
Location : Nice, France
Registration date : 2008-09-08

HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Empty
PostSubject: Re: HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW   HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Icon_minitimeSun 13 Oct 2019 - 20:00

HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Affiche-Portrait-1979-Formula-1Our main rFactor 2 series for 2020 illustrates perfectly the homecoming feeling expressed above, as it will consist in a full season of 1979 Grand Prix racing - familiar grounds indeed for the veteran HSOer.

Thanks to the excellent conversion from rF1 by “Postipate92”, we can relive the thrill of the late 1970s Grand Prix life, at the heart of the “wing-car” era of ground effects madness. As the original mod, the rF2 version offers a full field of cars, each with different specs and handling characteristics, all wrapped in an accurate hierarchy.

While by 1979 Formula 1 racing was already entering space age and at the top of modernity as far as cars are concerned, it was also still old flavoured in other areas such as circuits, technical and sporting rules, or the overall managing of the championship series.

In one of many Ferrari triumphs in Grand Prix racing history, the 1979 season saw several landmark events took place, from Williams and Renault's first wins to the legendary Arnoux vs. Villeneuve duel at Dijon.

Mod : Formula 1979 for rFactor 2.
Schedule : 15 races on Sunday nights, from January to December.
Race Distance : Full Grand Prix distance, between 1h30 and 2 hours.
Cars : 1979 Formula 1.
Another rFactor 2 historic mod with great content is the Stock Car Resurrection project featuring 1971 and 1972 NASCAR Cup cars. We will use the 1972 carset of this mod to stage several Open Events, revisiting along the year a few episodes of NASCAR's first "modern era" Winston Cup season.

With six makes of cars (AMC, Chevrolet, Dodge, Ford, Mercury and Plymouth) and 36 of the real season's cars available, there is plenty of choice for the historic stock car enthusiast. All the legendary good old boys are present : Petty, Baker, the Allisons, Yarborough, a young Waltrip and even some of America's best road racers like Mark Donohue or Bobby Unser.

From the high banks of Daytona to the tight turns of Martinsville, from Charlotte to Darlington, several of the real 1972 events are on the working list for next year, each of them a timeless classic of long distance Stock Car racing history. With races in the 3-hour bracket, strategy, patience, mechanical sympathy and experience will all be crucial to survive and, eventually, conquer at the wheel of these 200 mph monsters.


Mod : Stock Car Resurrection 1971-1972 for rFactor 2.
Schedule : Open Events on Sunday nights, part of HSO Gold Star series.
Race Distance : Full race distance, around 3 hours depending on events.
Cars : 1972 Stock Cars.  
HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Affiche-Portrait-1972-Stock-Car
HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Affiche-Portrait-1954-EnduranceThe great 1950s era of motor racing is sadly barely covered by sims and modders, but the few exceptions to this usually offer excellent content. One such exceptions is the 1954 Endurance mod by "woochoo", which features a great portion of the Le Mans field of that year.

Ferrari, Aston-Martin, Jaguar, Talbot, Maserati : all the great names of the era are represented, as well as some rarer makes as far as simracing content is concerned (Gordini, Frazer-Nash, Bristol). With widely different specs, limited setup margin and "all-weather" treaded tyres, the oldies are challenging beasts to tame.

Glorious cars such as the Ferrari 375 Plus, the Jaguar D-Type or the 5.5-litre Cunningham-Chrysler deserve glorious circuits to perform on, and the likes of Bremgarten, Rouen, Nordschleife, Montlhéry or Silverstone are all considered for Open Events in 2020. The shorter of such events will be held on Wednesdays, and the longer ones on Sundays, all valid for HSO Gold Star points.

Mod : 1954 Endurance Sports Cars for rFactor 2.
Schedule : Open Events on Wednesday and Sunday nights, part of HSO Gold Star series.
Race Distance : Full race distance, from 30 minutes to 2 hours depending on events.
Cars : 1954 Sports Cars.
One of the most iconic rFactor mods to never have been converted (let alone equalled) on more modern platforms is undoubtedly Team Historx's HGTTC and its great collection of 1960s and 1970s GT and Touring cars.

For the nostalgic HGT enthusiast, we have prepared a 1971 edition of the British Saloon Car Championship, with some of the iconic cars of the "Special Touring Cars" FIA Group 2 regulations days.

As in the real edition, the big American irons of Mustang and Camaro will be battling the smaller european Fords (Capri, Escort), BMWs (2002) and Alfa-Romeos (GTAM), so there should be a lot of action in the two displacement classes retained for the championship (over and under 2-litre).

This classic edition of what later became the BTCC will be our main Wednesday series for the first semester, with the races over UK's best tracks held every two weeks.


Mod : Historic GT & Touring Cars 1.96 for rFactor.
Schedule : 12 races on Wednesday nights, from January to June.
Race Distance : Full race distance, from 30 minutes to 1 hour depending on events.
Cars : 1971 Group 2 Touring Cars.
HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Affiche-Portrait-1971-BSCC-v3

_________________
Thou shalt not train.
HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW 10


Last edited by Frank Verplanken on Tue 15 Oct 2019 - 15:11; edited 3 times in total
Back to top Go down
http://historicsimracing.org/en/index
Timo Vermeersch
Racing Legend
Timo Vermeersch

Number of posts : 1093
Age : 50
Location : Brussels
Registration date : 2009-08-11

HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Empty
PostSubject: Re: HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW   HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Icon_minitimeSun 13 Oct 2019 - 20:19

cheers cheers cheers

_________________
Visit Intersection Diaries: the tale of a young racing career.. And like us on Facebook.
HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Inters12
Back to top Go down
Karel Marciniszyn
Pro Driver
Karel Marciniszyn

Number of posts : 871
Age : 36
Location : Czech republic
Registration date : 2009-11-03

HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Empty
PostSubject: Re: HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW   HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Icon_minitimeSun 13 Oct 2019 - 20:28

:top: :top: :top:

_________________
I am ashamed for my stats way too much to show them :D
Back to top Go down
http://f-easter.webnode.cz/
Honza Mild
Experienced Driver
Honza Mild

Number of posts : 438
Age : 44
Location : Czech republic, South Bohemia
Registration date : 2009-11-04

HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Empty
PostSubject: Re: HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW   HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Icon_minitimeMon 14 Oct 2019 - 7:59

yeeeehaaaaa :yaa: :clap:

_________________
HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW 121
Back to top Go down
Jukka Maattanen
Racing Legend


Number of posts : 1576
Age : 33
Location : Finland
Registration date : 2009-12-17

HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Empty
PostSubject: Re: HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW   HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Icon_minitimeMon 14 Oct 2019 - 16:39

:clap:

_________________
HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW 143
Back to top Go down
Matthias Weber
Experienced Driver
Matthias Weber

Number of posts : 485
Age : 36
Location : Remscheid, Germany
Registration date : 2013-08-06

HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Empty
PostSubject: Re: HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW   HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Icon_minitimeMon 14 Oct 2019 - 17:33

:top:

_________________
HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW 621
Back to top Go down
http://www.wud-ev.de
Christian Dauger
Club Driver
Christian Dauger

Number of posts : 53
Age : 58
Location : France
Registration date : 2018-01-01

HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Empty
PostSubject: Re: HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW   HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Icon_minitimeMon 14 Oct 2019 - 18:11

Jolie programme... Smile
Back to top Go down
Bruno Chacon
Experienced Driver
Bruno Chacon

Number of posts : 380
Age : 60
Location : Brazil
Registration date : 2017-03-08

HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Empty
PostSubject: Re: HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW   HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Icon_minitimeMon 14 Oct 2019 - 22:54

affraid :clap:
Back to top Go down
Online
Mike Becnel
Racing Legend
Mike Becnel

Number of posts : 4183
Age : 51
Location : Sugar Land, TX, USA
Registration date : 2012-06-24

HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Empty
PostSubject: Re: HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW   HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Icon_minitimeMon 14 Oct 2019 - 23:02

79 F1 at Monaco is a challenge. I have already hit just about every wall with the front and back of several cars.

I am greatly looking forward to the start of the F1 season. An old speed master is rumored to be returning and I expect to be lapped by him many times.

_________________
HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW 458
Back to top Go down
Online
Timo Vermeersch
Racing Legend
Timo Vermeersch

Number of posts : 1093
Age : 50
Location : Brussels
Registration date : 2009-08-11

HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Empty
PostSubject: Re: HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW   HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Icon_minitimeTue 15 Oct 2019 - 14:29

Is there anyone willing to consider coaching me into the dark art of Stockcar Racing?

_________________
Visit Intersection Diaries: the tale of a young racing career.. And like us on Facebook.
HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Inters12
Back to top Go down
Jason Whited
Pro Driver
Jason Whited

Number of posts : 578
Age : 35
Location : Virginia, USA
Registration date : 2017-03-08

HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Empty
PostSubject: Re: HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW   HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Icon_minitimeTue 15 Oct 2019 - 15:00

Nice. Cool

...was just plowing around in a few old cars from that '54 Endurance mod the other night thinking, "damn, really wish there were others that enjoyed these things"....low and behold, a full series cheers

I've been spending an increasing amount of time in rF2, but outside of the endurance stuff I do, it's often hard to find many running some of the great mods such as the ones listed here for 2020 usage.

While I enjoy (and spend a lot of time in) the modern stuff, the historic content is where I fell in love with sim racing and it's where I cut my teeth learning the ropes.
Needless to say, I'll have eyes on hoping to score some decent cars for the upcoming series :D

:chinois:

_________________
Proud 2017 Indy 500 Rookie of the Year  :first:
HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW 817
Back to top Go down
Filippo Marazzi
Club Driver
Filippo Marazzi

Number of posts : 149
Age : 50
Location : Varese, Italy
Registration date : 2016-11-05

HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Empty
PostSubject: Re: HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW   HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Icon_minitimeTue 15 Oct 2019 - 16:57

:conduit: 54 endurance and 72 stock car :clap: …. MAK group C Very Happy

_________________
HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW 819
Back to top Go down
Greg Hunt
Racing Legend
Greg Hunt

Number of posts : 4285
Age : 35
Location : HOSSEGOR
Registration date : 2010-03-25

HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Empty
PostSubject: Re: HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW   HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Icon_minitimeTue 15 Oct 2019 - 18:09

F1 79 bounce bounce bounce bounce bounce bounce bounce bounce bounce bounce

_________________
HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW 849
Back to top Go down
Christian Dauger
Club Driver
Christian Dauger

Number of posts : 53
Age : 58
Location : France
Registration date : 2018-01-01

HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Empty
PostSubject: Re: HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW   HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Icon_minitimeTue 15 Oct 2019 - 18:11

And the mod Gtpc that you use on AMS, made by MAK under rf2 ...?? Very Happy  Maybe one day. ..  Rolling Eyes bounce
Because, 3 cars, even good, it's not enough.  ..
Back to top Go down
Jan Kowalski
Pro Driver
Jan Kowalski

Number of posts : 774
Age : 29
Location : Germany
Registration date : 2008-11-28

HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Empty
PostSubject: Re: HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW   HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Icon_minitimeWed 16 Oct 2019 - 14:20

Greg Hunt wrote:
F1 79 bounce bounce bounce bounce bounce bounce bounce bounce bounce bounce

it will be epic :top: :conduit:

_________________
HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW 141
Back to top Go down
Jacob Fredriksson
Racing Legend
Jacob Fredriksson

Number of posts : 1041
Age : 30
Location : Sweden
Registration date : 2014-01-15

HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Empty
PostSubject: Re: HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW   HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Icon_minitimeWed 16 Oct 2019 - 20:31

The 1954 mod is really interesting. Some people will be put off by the fictionalised car and driver names (some cars DO look like the real deal, like the Cunninghams, Ferraris and the D-type), but driving wise it's top-notch. The best representation of 1950's racing along with the GPL55 mod. No other mod for any of the rFactor based games simulate the tyres and drum brakes this well. Pure joy to drive around old Spa.

_________________
"I'm going for first!" "...the man's an animal..."
HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW 669
Happy and proud 1988 CART Champion! ~ 2017
Back to top Go down
Mauro Mariani
Rookie
Mauro Mariani

Number of posts : 17
Age : 39
Location : Italy
Registration date : 2019-10-17

HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Empty
PostSubject: Re: HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW   HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Icon_minitimeThu 17 Oct 2019 - 20:18

hi guys
very happy that you start to use rf2

if you need historic track for f1 1979 championship i can send you some updated tracks like Kyalami, Osterreichring, Zolder used in provate leagues (you don't find them on steam workshop).

about F1 1954 mod, here you can find my cars spreadsheet and car roster with real names:
xxx

EDIT: i can't insert external link Sad


p.s. i'm interested in 1954 endurance Wednesday nights open races
Back to top Go down
Online
Frank Verplanken
League Owner
Frank Verplanken

Number of posts : 12179
Age : 44
Location : Nice, France
Registration date : 2008-09-08

HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Empty
PostSubject: Re: HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW   HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Icon_minitimeThu 17 Oct 2019 - 20:52

Hi Mak & welcome :hello:

Could you please edit your profile with your full name, it's the rule in here Wink.

Yes I'd love to have a look at those updated tracks, thanks. You have to wait a week after your registration before you can post links, PM me yours in the meantime and I'll post it Wink.

Nice to have you around :top:

_________________
Thou shalt not train.
HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW 10
Back to top Go down
http://historicsimracing.org/en/index
Frank Verplanken
League Owner
Frank Verplanken

Number of posts : 12179
Age : 44
Location : Nice, France
Registration date : 2008-09-08

HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Empty
PostSubject: Re: HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW   HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Icon_minitimeThu 17 Oct 2019 - 21:25

Glad to see some enthusiasm for rF2 :top: Some epic stuff brewing in '79 indeed if the likes of Greg and Jan are back at it :jp: ! Great to see some '54 connoisseurs out there Cool. The '72 stockers should be interesting, I'm curious to see how it'll go in long races with these cars. At least the oval cars won't have to worry about rain.

Jacob Fredriksson wrote:
The 1954 mod is really interesting. Some people will be put off by the fictionalised car and driver names (some cars DO look like the real deal, like the Cunninghams, Ferraris and the D-type), but driving wise it's top-notch. The best representation of 1950's racing along with the GPL55 mod. No other mod for any of the rFactor based games simulate the tyres and drum brakes this well. Pure joy to drive around old Spa.

Exactly :top:

_________________
Thou shalt not train.
HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW 10
Back to top Go down
http://historicsimracing.org/en/index
Steve Parker
Racing Legend
Steve Parker

Number of posts : 1943
Age : 60
Location : England uk
Registration date : 2008-12-22

HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Empty
PostSubject: Re: HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW   HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Icon_minitimeFri 18 Oct 2019 - 20:33

Looks like a good season 79 F1 Was always good fun,and glad to see Greg is back :drink: ,1954 should be good :top:

_________________


HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW 16
Back to top Go down
François Remmen
Pro Driver
François Remmen

Number of posts : 877
Age : 39
Location : Netherlands
Registration date : 2012-12-22

HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Empty
PostSubject: Re: HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW   HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Icon_minitimeFri 18 Oct 2019 - 20:51

great new world to explore and hope for a new experience for a fantasic and relaxed time to spend here
awesome Mike is back , great guy and awesome to see his fanatic old school choices of influence
forgive me im going to install rf2 for the first time:oops: and like to ask
if its just a straight install from steam or need i patches aswell

kind regards

_________________
HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW 617
Back to top Go down
Michal Janak
Pro Driver
Michal Janak

Number of posts : 975
Age : 47
Location : Brno, Czech Republic
Registration date : 2010-03-25

HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Empty
PostSubject: Re: HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW   HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Icon_minitimeSat 19 Oct 2019 - 11:48

high hopes for me :top:

_________________
HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW 228

Status: Retired

HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW FerrHSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW LancHSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Cart88HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW 935HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Bmwm1
Back to top Go down
Gilles Lalonde
Rookie
Gilles Lalonde

Number of posts : 30
Age : 47
Location : Montreal, Quebec
Registration date : 2017-09-15

HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Empty
PostSubject: Re: HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW   HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Icon_minitimeSat 19 Oct 2019 - 18:20

Great work on that OP Frank,

...now I have 3 leagues to follow... at a time when all of my spare time has disappeared... it wont be possible to run all events in all 3.

There will be dropouts.

I dunno! It does not feel like a good move.

I guess it was an AMS - rF2 thingy.

On another note, I looked around but I didn't see anything on what "HSO Gold Star Series" really is... just a name or an actual level of something?

_________________
I own crappy boxes... well you know what? 16gigs of 1866 HyperX FURY on a Asus P7P55 LX with an i7-860 running a used GTX970 4GD5T OC on an new LG 29-UM69G-B 21:9 screen... I'm doing way better!  I even got myself a barely used G29! But I still endlessly mod rFactor... :antoine:
Back to top Go down
https://cmsracing.com/champion/forums/member.php?5759-Gilles-Lal
Steve Parker
Racing Legend
Steve Parker

Number of posts : 1943
Age : 60
Location : England uk
Registration date : 2008-12-22

HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Empty
PostSubject: Re: HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW   HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW Icon_minitimeSat 19 Oct 2019 - 19:12

François Remmen wrote:
great new world to explore and hope for a new experience for a fantasic and relaxed time to spend here
awesome Mike is back , great guy and awesome to see his fanatic old school choices of influence
forgive me im going to install rf2 for the first time:oops:  and like to ask
if its just a straight install from steam or need i patches aswell

kind regards

Its just a straight install from steam :top:

_________________


HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW 16
Back to top Go down
 
HSO 2020 SEASON PREVIEW
Back to top 
Page 1 of 6Go to page : 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Historic Simracing Organisation :: General Discussion :: Paddock-
Jump to: